Origin of Ayurveda

Ayurveda is an intricate system of healing that originated in India thousands of years ago. There is a concept that has been passing down verbally from generation to generation in India about the origin of Ayurveda. Accordingly, the ancient "Rishis" of India gathered at the foot of the Himalayas. Their objective was to innovate together the secret of leading a healthy, long life. The final product of their effort came to be known as Ayurveda. Documented references to the precise timing of the origin of Ayurveda are not available. The age of Ayurveda has been established on the basis of correlating the evidence with other disciplines as well as circumstantial evidence. Ayurveda is said to have been first compiled as a text by Agnivesha, in his book Agnivesh tantra, which was written during Vedic times. The book was later revised by Charaka, and renamed to Charaka Samhitā.What we see is that Ayurveda is more than just a medical system. It is a Science of Life. We are all part and parcel of nature. Just as the animals and plants live in harmony with nature and utilize the Laws of Nature to create health and balance within their beings, we, too, adhere to these very same principles. Therefore, it is fair to say that Ayurveda is a system that helps maintain health in a person by using the inherent principles of nature to bring the individual back into equilibrium with their true self. In essence Ayurveda has been in existence since the beginning of time because we have always been governed by nature's laws.


yurveda is a Sanskrit term, made up of the words "ayu" and "veda." "Ayu" means life and "Veda" means knowledge or science. The term "ayurveda" thus means 'the knowledge of life' or 'the science of life'. According to the ancient Ayurvedic Acharya Charaka, "ayu" comprises the mind, body, senses and the soul.

Aim of Ayurveda
  • To prevent diseases
  • To treat and cure diseases
  • Both of these goals aim to promote health on three levels
  • Mental
  • Physical
  • Spiritual

Ayurveda is a system of medicine with scientific basis. It has its own set of principles, processes, methodologies and procedures, which are relevant even today, as a guide to better and healthier living.

Asthanga Ayurveda

For the convenient study of vast science Ayurveda, is divided into eight branches, which are together called as Ashtang Ayurveda. The eight branches are:

  • Kayachikitsa -Kaya means living human body. This treatment includes all diseases situated in the body.
  • Bala chikitsa- Deals with health and diseases related to children.
  • Graha chikitsa - Deals with spiritual healing.
  • Urdhvanga chikitsa-Treatment of eyes, ears, nose, throat and head.
  • Shalya chikitsa - Describes about pre-operative procedures, general procedures, post-operative procedures, anesthesia and marma`s (vital points). It also describes about bandages, shastra (sharp instruments), yantras (blunt instruments) and sutures (stitches).
  • Damstra chikitsa-Deals with treatment for food poisoning, snake bites, insect bites, dog bites etc.
  • Jara chikitsa- Deals with prevention of diseases and improving immunity and rejuvenation.
  • Vrishya chikitsa (vajikarana)- Virilification or Deals with male and female genetic organs.
Basic principles of Ayurveda
Basic Principles of Ayurveda comprise of:
  • The TriGunas: Three Fundamental universal energies are - Satva ,Rajas and Tamas
  • The PanchaMahabhutas: Five basic elements are Akasha (Space),Vayu (Air),Teja or Agni(Fire),Jala(Water) and Prithvi (Earth)
  • The TriDosas: Three Body Humours are Vata,Pitta and Kapha
  • The SaptaDhatus: Seven types of body tissues :viz.- Rasa (fluid) Dhatu, Rakta(blood)Dhatu, Mamsa Dhatu,Meda(fat)Dhatu,Asthi Dhatu,Majja Dhatu and Sukra Dhatu.
  • The TrayodosaAgni: Thirteen types of digestive fires : are Jatharagni (gastric fire), SaptaDhatvagni and PanchaBhutagni.
  • The TriMalas: Three types of Body Wastes are Purisa (faeces),Mutra (urine) and Sveda (sweat)
My Dream Child © 2018 All Rights Reserved.